The Merry Cemetary

At my house, we’ve been really into Anthony Bourdain’s:No Reservations I think over the past month we’ve seen at least 15 episodes. And truthfully, Tony’s (yeah we are on a first name basis now) view on a country can make or break a place for me. For instance, I never had much interest in visiting Hong Kong until I saw him eating at the food courts, and his stop in Iceland confirmed that one day would be enough for me. Last week Tony stopped in Romania, a place I almost visited but never did, and it looked pretty creepy and cold, except for the Merry Cemetary. A burial ground with cartoon-like handcarved wooden headstones with strange and sometime macabre scenes.

Merry Cemetary, Sapanta, Romania
Originally uploaded by John Spooner

I’ve always found eastern european folk art to be so inspiring. This place alone makes Romania worth travelling to in my book. Anyone want to come with me?

P.S.Watch that video with sound on at your own risk.

0 Responses to “The Merry Cemetary”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

