alpacas are itchy

A year ago, a friend asked me to knit him a scarf with stars on it. On my trip to budapest, I brought some army green yarn to do just that. (Cascade Pastaza) When I started knitting with it, I decided it was too itchy for his neck. After a year, this scarf should be right. So, I didn’t do much knitting in on my trip, I was too busy eating. When I left for the airport I realized I would have nothing to knit on the plane, and that sucks, so I frantically looked for a pattern, and picked Argosy (another scarf) but at least this is a lacy scarf, and would be for myself, and I have a much stronger neck than he. So I knit knit knit for my unscheduled 12 hour lay over, (and ate more, this time cheese, I was in France) and finished it yesterday. And now I have the worlds most itchiest scarf.

Here is a photo of it. (backwards, whoops).

argosy

I actually wore it all day yesterday (to see Teeth – a movie about vagina dentanta – not really relevant but thought i’d throw it in) and I was able to deal with it and will wear it again today on my quest to get Super Bowl Sunday 40% off yarn.

1 Response to “alpacas are itchy”


  1. 1 Beetsie February 5, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Nice scarf – I like the pattern.

    I don’t think of alpaca as itchy, but it might be if it has lots of guard hairs – something you wouldn’t know in a commercial yarn until you knit it up. I’m knitting a sweater for Katy (on the needles for over a year now…I’m afraid of the steeking) that’s Elann Peruvian alpaca that’s really soft, but then I haven’t given it the neck test.

    Hey, exciting trip – was it fun?


Leave a Reply

