dia de los muertos

Even though my birthday is on the Day of the Dead, and the calavera decor has been kind of ‘hot’ recently, I never was really into it before this year. I guess because I’m from New England, there are not many Dia De Los Muertos Celebrations. This year I had the inclination to go to a Festival, but it didn’t end up happening, so instead I ordered some extra large sugar skull molds and crafted these cuties.

señor y señora cara dulce

I have to say, I was kind of afraid to make them. On the internet there are so many warnings concerning these things. For instance “YOU MUST use meringue powder!” “DO NOT make in the rain, or on a day with ANY humidity AT ALL!” Luckily I found this blog entry and was able to make them with just sugar and egg whites and they stuck together smashingly.

I did use meringue powder to make the royal icing just because i saw it at the craft store and thought i might as well try using it. (I also used wilton food coloring gels). Really it was one of the most fun projects i’ve ever made and I’ll probably be much more excited about the holiday next year.

Wouldn’t they look cute on this sixteen dollar paper doiley? Maybe for next year. I feel a Day of the Dead 2008 30th Birthday celebration in my future.

2 Responses to “dia de los muertos”


  1. 1 Stephanie November 6, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Wow! I just realized your comment linked to your new blog! Awesome. I linked to it from mine but unfortunately it went to the bottom since it’s alphabetical.

  2. 2 katy November 6, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    hey, i didn’t know that it was your birthday! i hope you had an amazing day. (and i love the skulls – they look beautiful AND delicious).


Leave a Reply

